It’s time for some pew pew pew, that’s what! But I think we know what you mean when you ask what’s next now that you’ve completed the liberty inducing process of building your own AR. There are some aspects we can answer for you and some we can only inform. We are not legal experts here as we are only experts of pew. So for your local gun law requirements, we encourage you to source that out with the experts. However, we can inform and guide you on that process as we are certainly in the mix of it all.
In most states, 49 as far as we currently know, you need but buy ammo and head to the range once you complete your 80 percent lower. In the state of California, however, you’ve got to jump through a few more hoops and of course give the government a little coin.
Let’s break it down.
The 80 Percent Lower and the ATF
For those unaware, the 80 percent lower is considered by the ATF as nothing more than a fantastically shaped paperweight. The part of the lower receiver that hosts the trigger housing group isn’t yet milled out and it truly is nothing more than a hunk of high grade aluminum.
However, after purchasing a high quality 80 lower jig you can complete the process and be heading down to the range by afternoon for a little trigger time. It truly is an easy process and we assure that almost anyone with opposable thumbs can pull it off.
That being said you will need a quality 80 percent lower to start the process and we’ve got you covered there. The beauty of the 80 percent lower is that you can have them shipped directly to your front door without any FFL required. Given the current trends in gun legislation, we recommend you buy 80 percent lowers in bulk and save them for a rainy 2A day.
Once you have the knowledge to complete your own AR, you will quickly realize that this is something that the gun grabbers can never take away from you. Change the laws all they might, but what is in your head stays in your head for the day you may very well need it most. Which brings us to the state of California.
The California Conundrum
Once again, we must remind you that we are not legal experts here. Moreover, as of the time this blog is written we cannot assure you that it matches your local current gun laws given the pace at which those who abhor 2A look to restrict it.
That being said, our current understanding of the most recent California infringement is that all finished firearms must bear a serial number starting January 1, 2019. Which is why we offer you this California Compliant 80 percent lower to lend a helping hand to our brothers and sisters of the pew.
Once you finish an 80 lower in the state of California it is our understanding that you must apply for a serial number and, of course, pay government a nice little fee. I mean, what’s government without taking some of your hard earned money for exercising liberty, right?
As for the rest of America, once you complete an 80 percent lower it is time to just embrace the joy of the pew life. It really is a lifestyle and those who know how to enjoy liberty best enjoy it most. So don’t forget to check out the rest of our freedom offerings at 80LowerJig.com and live life as the founders intended.